Unzipped Triolet

I really like this triolet poem from gracefulpress

Graceful Press Poetry

If I could just unzip the gray
to find blue seas behind that wall
and perch there, wondering, not afraid—
If I could just unzip the gray,
dive clean in sunlit blue-salt waves,
no fear of drowning heart-hard, small—
If I could just unzip the gray
to find blue seas behind that wall.

Inspired by Margo Roby’s picture prompt, with thanks to Jane for bringing the triolet to my attention.

View original post

18 thoughts on “Unzipped Triolet

      1. Yeah sounds like a good idea, i’m the same pretty much, just been getting overwhelmed with so many different forms that i’ve stuck with the simplier ones like haiku, senryu, tanka and went from there onto cinquains, acrostics etc…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. And it’s been a while since I’ve written a diamante. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of Haibun, so thank you. That is weird because I’m addicted to all forms of Haiku 🙂 Have a great day, and thanks again. Here are some forms for you to research, if you haven’t already:

        -Cherita
        -Pleiades
        -Tetractys
        -Tableau
        -Dodoitsu
        -Shadorma
        -Nonet
        -Bussokusekiko
        -Choka
        -Katauta
        -Sedoka
        -Tanks

        🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      3. This is great! heard of one or two of these like the nonet, choka, tanka and shadorma, i’ll try the rest of these soon.

        Thanks a lot!

        Haibun is just prose followed by a haiku and covers a broad range of subjects. I had a few written but deleted them as sometimes I feel i’m concentrating so much on adhering to the stucture and form of a poem that the content suffers occasionally, I might post them once I have revised them.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. You’re not alone in deleting lines. If I published everything I have ever written I would have ten books, instead of the two I do actually have. And THAT would be a real disaster. Refine your craft. Sometimes I write loads, and other times I sit and stare at the screen for hours. Other times, I write loads, and hate it so much that I just highlight it all and delete. Haha

        Liked by 1 person

      5. haha very true, the life of an amateur poet, it’s a dark and cringe worthy world sometimes! I plan to write a book one day as well hopefully. No one knows I write at the moment and it shall remain so until I achieve a reasonable standard and understanding of poetry.

        Liked by 1 person

      6. I would rather stay in the underground for the rest of my life writing with people who are more passionate about what they do. Frankly, I never planned on publishing books, but after ten years of writing I looked around and had way too much to simply discard or waste. It was my emotions, my feelings, my anger, my passions, and everything in between. It had to be dealt with. And I know that you write. I’ve been following you for a while now. You’re not invisible. Just don’t stop writing.

        Liked by 1 person

      7. One last thing, and I will stop bothering you. If you want to write a book, just do it. Fuck everybody else. And you might want to check out this resource when you consider publishing:

        http://www.createspace.com

        It’s owned by Amazon, it’s free to publish, and I will be the first person in line to buy your book 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      8. That all depends on what you want. I never write with an audience in mind. That being said, my first book of Haiku had 100 poems, which was 44 pages in total, but my second book, which is the patchwork form of Haiku I created, is a little longer – 70 pages. Don’t let that be an outline for you though. The free verse manuscript I’m working on is already well over 9,000 words, and will be much longer. Just create. There are no rules to follow, except the ones you create for yourself, and you should break those too from time to time…hehe

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

